R.I.P, sweet bunny

Today we buried our pet bunny, Katy. We’d had her 9 years, which of course means she was a “pre-kids” kid. She was not your average bunny – in her hey day she was all about acting like a dog…chasing and retrieving a ball you rolled, curling up with you and kissing your arm with bunny licks, and being chased herself.

As an adult, you understand that pets don’t have the same longevity as humans. As a kid, you just expect them to be there. As a parent, you worry about your kids.

We haven’t told the kids yet. We discovered her just before naptime and gave her a proper burial on the back of our property while the kids were sleeping. But we know we have to.

Morgan is too little to really be impacted – she liked looking at Katy from a distance, but was a bit intimidated by her up close. Jake, however, had taken to picking her up, giving her bunny treats (yogurt donuts), and loved to see where Katy-Katy was hiding.

Jake is the insightful one, the one who will ponder this and wonder…we’ll have to be straight up about it, but I have to say, I’m not looking forward to it.

We noticed she wasn’t herself a few days ago. I noticed her slowly eating less, wandering less, and just resting more. She’d almost doubled the life expectancy of a bunny, so we knew it was coming. We talked to him about Katy being older, and how she wouldn’t always be with us.

But I’m still not prepared…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “R.I.P, sweet bunny

  1. When our bunny Thumper passed it was so hard on our family. I can totally relate. It’s never easy but I found writing about it helps. I don’t know why or how but it does.

    Hugs!!!

  2. Aww..so sweet and yet, so sad. I must say I had no idea bunnies could be so interactive. It’s always tough to talk about stuff like this to our kids (I’ve been through this with my son (my link is http://specialsauceinthehouse.blogspot.com/2010/02/fruit-its-not-whats-for-dinner.html) but he’s a little older, at 6, which is good AND bad. Your writing is really lovely, by the way!

  3. Lori

    I’m so sorry. I remember stories of Katy chewing on computer wires…. Don’t be surprised if Jake surprises you with his thoughts on this.

Leave a Reply

