Go fly a kite

If you haven’t flown a kite in a while, you are missing out. If you haven’t flown a kite with kids lately, then you are REALLY missing out. It was one of those parenting days…

My son had picked out a Spiderman kite for my husband’s birthday. No joke, it was one of those $5 kites – nothing fancy. When the kids got up from their naps today, we thought it would be fun to show them what the kite did.

Off to the local park we went. The kids played on the playground while my husband opened the kite. We looked to the field about ten minutes in, and my kids’ eyes grew wide with wonderment.

I’ll never forget my little boy, running across the field as quickly as his little feet would take him. I followed him with my Flip camera, ready to capture the moment. Dad handed the kite over, and Jake ran…and ran…and ran…with such enthusiasm and passion.

As he ran toward me, I heard him say “like an eagle, mama, like an eagle”. He must have run for fifteen minutes straight, keeping the eagle in the sky. So proud, so excited, so determined.

Yes, my little man, someday you will spread your wings and soar like an eagle too. But for today, and for a while, you can remain my little pal.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Go fly a kite

  1. I finally found someone else who loves kites also (LOL).

    Stopping by from #UBP10.

    Thanks for following me on Twitter.

    I’m now following you on Twitter

    take care,
    Erica

    http://frugalways2save.com

Leave a Reply

