The great shoe saga

Warning, this post could be quite mundane for anyone who has never taken a child shoe shopping. But I’m going to write it anyway.

I love taking my kids to pick out their own shoes. If they pick them out, they are more willing to put them on. Which makes my life much easier, and I will take what I can get!

So last weekend I loaded both kids in the car and headed to Stride Rite. I have NO idea why they only had one fitter and one runner working on a Sunday. I mean, really? When else is the working mom supposed to shoe shop?

It was a nightmare. I was asked to sign in on the clipboard. I was number 1. Yes, you read that right, I was first on the list. And we waited 20 minutes before anyone waited on us. No, I am not here to bash the brand. It happens. But do you know what twenty minutes in a small shoe store does to a 4 and 2-year-old? Complete boredom.

While we waited I tried to get Jake to pick out a pair of shoes. He chose two pairs of Nike shoes. I was thinking we were really lucky to have two in hand. They couldn’t possibly be out of his size in both pairs, right? Wrong. We finally got fitted and found out that neither of the shoes were in stock. And we were now 35 minutes into the experience and dangerously close to nap time.

So, it started. The stubborn, I’m tired and bored, belligerence. The “runner” had brought out two other pairs of Nike shoes. Neither were acceptable in his four-year-old mind. 10 minutes later (45 minutes in) we got back to the shoe wall. “The green ones, mama”. At that point, I would have bought him just about anything.

You see, the belligerence didn’t bother me. Frankly, the whole experience was frustrating for us both. We were tired, we were ready to get shoes and go. What did bother me was the extreme disappointment my boy was feeling. While I don’t agree in giving your kids everything they want, I did feel bad that he’d picked out his “perfect” shoes and waited patiently only to find out he had to make another choice.

Thankfully, we got the “green” shoes in his size and finally (1 hour and 10 minutes later) were leaving the store. Driving home, he looked at me and said,

“Mama, these shoes are really fast running shoes. They are perfect”

And then, I knew it was all worth it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The great shoe saga

  1. jala

    Shopping for shoes is a trying thing in our household. This is why my husband is the one that shops for “rocket shoes” with my kids. I keep my mouth shut when they return from these excursions wearing colorful hightops and army patterned sneakers. My husband is far more patient than me.

Leave a Reply

