A sense of balance

As a working mom and part of a dual-working household, I have no balance. I often get, “You have it all. How do you do it?”. My response? “You just do”.

That pretty much sums it up. When I’m at work, I think about home. When I’m home, I think about work. I don’t regret my choice to be a working mom, and I love my job. But I am always torn between the responsibilities of work and home. Don’t even get me started on squeezing in housecleaning, laundry, grocery shopping, and doctor appointments.

Balance is not about measuring the time you spend at work against the time you spend at home. With today’s connectivity (thank you, iPhone), the work/life divider line is getting smaller and smaller. It’s not about always being at peace and happy with your decision to be a working mom. Because the guilt never goes away.   

No, having balance is about your relationship with your kids and your family. It comes from noticing and appreciating the little things. After a bad day at work, it’s having my son tell me about the new game he and his friend made up called “Chicken Patty”. After a long week, it’s having my daughter nestle into my shoulder and cuddle for forty-five minutes. And when things seem really stressful and crazy, it’s seeing my son and daughter give one another a good night hug. All of these little moments restore me, recharge my batteries, and balance me.

Yes, balance comes in many forms. How do I ‘have it all’? I use all the beautiful, little moments in my kids’ lives to help balance out all the stress and craziness that comes from trying to ‘have it all’. And, if you define “having it all” as being able to love your kids unconditionally, and have them love you back…well…I do have it all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

