About those resolutions…

A month has passed since the New Year, and it’s about time for all of those horrid articles talking about the people who haven’t been able to keep their resolutions. And I think they are the detriment for all of us trying to make and keep resolutions.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand that once a year we evaluate our lives and make promises that we may/may not be able to keep. But what if we cut ourselves some slack, and recognize that any attempt at self-improvement is a good thing. That changes don’t occur dramatically, but with baby steps that lead to improvements in our lives, improvements in health, and most importantly, improvements in ourselves.

This was the year that I was going to cut myself some slack. It was actually a piece of advice my boss gave me. Perhaps he was right. Perhaps my whole life has been about striving for perfection, an unachievable level of perfection.

That was my intent with my resolutions (https://momdrobe.wordpress.com/2009/12/31/new-year-new-you-aka-my-resolutions-for-a-better-self/).  To make positive changes in my life, and avoid the need to do it all “perfectly”. And frankly, I’ve yet to achieve the most popular resolution of losing weight, but I’ve done a pretty good job on the rest.

So, in the interest of keeping me honest, let’s recap the progress:

Weight and healthy eating

I have accomplished the following:

  • Successfully planned two out of four weeks of meals, and avoided convenience foods in the kitchen.
  • Improved my breakfast habits 3/4 of the time. This week I’m on a mission to increase that to 6/7 days
  • Greatly reduced my habit of ordering out comfort food for lunch. While not perfect, I am down to two days a week. Tomorrow, I have a pear, apple, banana, and gourmet mix with dried cranberries, walnuts, and balsamic vinaigrette packed for the day. Oh, and a can of roasted almonds. Every bit helps!
  • The biggest and most impactful change? I have only “emotionally eaten” three times this month. Yes, what went from 5/7 days of the week, went to 3/31 days. So for all of those thinking that I’m backing out of my resolutions with this post and this idea of cutting myself some slack? Take that!

Stress reduction

Probably my biggest area of improvement. Honestly. And it’s changed everything else around me. Progress to date includes:

  • Two weeks of workouts as initially planned (3x a week). Business travel put a damper in the other weeks (not that I can’t workout on the road, but those days are SO long already). Definitely an area for continued improvement. Starting up again tomorrow!
  • Definitely am recharging my mindset on those stressful days. Whether it’s taking a few deep breaths, a brisk walk during a stressful time, or just forcing myself to chill out a bit, I am less stressed. Everyday. Funny, because I am twice as busy at work than when I wrote the initial post!
  • I took time for myself this month. In addition, I had one night out with my best friend (so fun, and we were home by 8 – perfect!) and another night out with my husband, best friend, and college friends. And my husband and I had a date night at home after the kids went to bed. Yep, fulfilled the need to be “more than a working mom” 

Time management

Hmmm…one of the biggest challenges. I’m not sure I need to elaborate on specifics, but am happy to report that:

  • I’ve been working hard to find the right blend of work and personal time
  • Have been more organized at home, yielding a smoother process with the kids
  • Have set some boundaries and are when I’m at work, I am focused on work. When at home, I am more present at home.
  • Getting up earlier? Well, we are still working on that. January is sinus month for me, but I’ve been working on it with the neti pot, decongestants, etc. It knocks me out, but I just have to get over it!

So, for those of you who think your New Year’s Resolutions are blown, stop that thinking! Remember that they are resolutions for the new YEAR, not the new MONTH. Recommit yourself to them as often and as many times as needed. You can do it, no matter how big the feat.

If you’ve achieved success with your resolutions, let me know how! I’m still on the journey and committed to making the positive changes in my life. I hope you are too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

