There’s no stopping her…

Ugh, it’s so much work. But I don’t really have a choice. My not-yet-two-year-old daughter is determined to learn how to use the potty. When her brother goes in to use the potty, she goes running after him “pees! pees! pees! potty!”. This has been going on for several months.

There have been other signs too. Getting her diapers, wipes, cream out anytime she’d messed her diaper. No joke, she’d get it all out and lay down on the floor. If she was playing in another room and not near the diaper stash, she’d take off her pants and diaper, toss them on the floor, and walk away. Yeah, it was pretty gross.

In an attempt to get my butt in gear, my mom bought her big girl underwear. Which she is infatuated with. And so it begins. This weekend we did the underwear underneath a pull up. Yes, the expensive pull ups. My son, trained by day but not by night, wears one to bed each night. Morgan decided she should wear one all the time. I swore I wouldn’t use them during daytime training for my daughter. For one, they aren’t that much different from diapers. Yes, you can pull them up and down. But they feel like a diaper, they wick away the liquid like a diaper, and they are definitely not underwear! And, when you are going through 5 of them a day, it really adds up. But I opened the door this weekend and when I went to put her back in a diaper, chaos broke out.

So today I trucked out to Wal-Mart hoping to find a really great deal on pull ups. No luck on the deal, but it’s my daughter’s happiness. I am now the proud owner of two week’s worth of pull ups.

I am not convinced that you can really train someone so young to only go on the potty. I see visions of very large laundry piles in my future. But if she wants to do it, I’m willing to help her try. After all, with a baby that determined, there’s no stopping her!

Leave a comment

Filed under Parenting, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

