Season of sickies

Wow, it’s been a long time since I’ve taken some time out to write. A few weeks ago I posted about the craziness that was occurring in our house. I thought that between my husband’s flu, my daughter’s ear ache, and my breast lump chaos that things couldn’t get any busier. But boy did they ever.

I understand that with both my husband and I working, and the kids in preschool that we are not going to be able to avoid germs, bacteria, and viruses. But this year has just been exceptional. In one month, my family made 3 trips to urgent care, 4 trips to various doctors, had 4 lab tests, and dealt with everything under the sun.

I became neurotic. Or, I should say, my naturally neurotic tendencies went into overdrive. I became consumed with Lysol wipes, Clorox disinfecting spray, and Purell. I soaked our dishes in water and bleach before putting them in the dishwasher.  And heaven forbid if you were the sick one (which actually happened to be everyone except for me). My son, sick with strep, wasn’t allowed to touch my daughter, who had croup and a double ear infection. My husband, who had the flu, wasn’t allowed to touch either of the kids without washing his hands. When my son came down with the flu (on the last two days of his antibiotics from the strep), I tried to isolate him from everyone.

And in the end, none of it really worked. I’ve realized that this season there is no winning. The day care centers start out with full classrooms, only to have over half the class sent home sick by the end of the day. The workplaces are no exception, with people leaving left and right to either take care of their kids or themselves.

We all just need to realize that this season is going to be tough. Batten down the hatches, do what you can to take care of yourself and your family. And, if you, like me, end up at home with two sick kids and a husband – well, try and keep your sanity. It will get better.

Stay well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

